“Agvocate”

I have always been on the quiet side and keep my thoughts to myself. It does keep me out of hot water on touchy subjects but then again it is not always a good thing. In my consumer market behavior class one person brings a current event into class every week and presents on it. Last week a girl happened to be presenting on the video, “The Scarecrow” that Chipotle made. I sat in my chair and listened to my classmates comment on how great it is and how they would go eat there. There were comments like, “that was brilliant” and “they are going to generate a lot of business from this.” There were so many things that I wanted to say but didn’t know how I could present the lies that this video was telling. I kept saying to myself to just let it go because they wouldn’t understand what I was even talking about anyway with the fact that it is illegal to even give poultry hormones and that some cows have better lives than some people. As I left class I almost felt guilty that I didn’t stand up and “agvocate”. The next night I was in my PR in Ag class and sure enough the video was brought up again and we talked about how bad it was making agriculture look. My teacher said that we are all agriculturists no matter what our major and they we should speak up. From then on I made a promise to myself that if I felt like something was being portrayed wrong in agriculture then I would say something even if it was small it could make someone see it in a different way. Here is a quick video that a classmate and I did that makes consumers aware of the lies that, “The Scarecrow” is telling.

Leave a Reply

